Thanksgiving eve…

Happy-Thanksgiving

 

While I am sure many of us start thinking about what we need for Thanksgiving a couple weeks ahead of time and start making purchases, for me it is not until a day or 2 before that it really sinks in that holy cow, I have a ton of things to do and make!

Today, I got up and started work at 7 a.m. and finished at 2:30 p.m. and then the race really started. First and foremost, I had to get my entire house clean.  Which, if you think about it, is rather pointless when it comes to the kitchen, because you are simply going to repeatedly destroy it while preparing for your family’s feast.  Make something and clean up.  Make something else and clean up.  It’s a vicious circle LOL.  Happily, I got everything except 1 thing done on my cleaning list already and after taking a much needed break, the last thing, mopping my floors, will be complete before I head to bed for the night.

In the morning, I have several things I need to make before everyone arrives.  One thing I do not have to worry about is the Turkey because my husband is in charge of that since we cook ours on the charcoal grill.  I still have my gluten-free stuffing, homemade condensed cream of mushroom soup for the green bean casserole, the green bean casserole itself, potatoes, and corn to make.  A great thing about our family is that everyone is willing to bring a thing or 2, making the stress of the entire feast much less.  My mother is bringing pies and my mother-in-law is bringing her homemade buns and homemade gluten-free bread or buns for me as well.

Considering it is just going to be the 6 of us, we are going to have entirely too much food, which, I am sure, is the same for everyone.  Thankfully, I will be able to send some home with our parents and then make portioned out freezer meals with the leftovers.

Tomorrow I am going to enjoy spending time with my family and eating great food, for which I am very thankful.  After the clean up is done and tryptophan coma wears off, I will share a few recipes so you can try them out for your next family gathering.

 

Happy Thanksgiving everyone and many blessings to you all!!

With love,

Niki

Leave a Reply

