Light Sunday Dinner

First, let me say I am sorry I have not been very active the last week.  Recouping from surgery drained me in all ways imaginable, but am happy to report I am on my own 2 feet again!  No more crutches! YAYYYY

Since I got the release from my MD that I could give the crutches up, I have been obsessed with getting things done that were driving me insane when I wasn’t able to do them, thus pushing myself a little too far LOL.

Tonight, we had a light dinner, though I am so stuffed I can barely breathe LOL.

Homemade broccoli cheese soup!  

2-1/2 C Chicken broth

1/2 C Heavy cream

3 C Broccoli, chopped

4 ounces softened cream cheese

1 C Shredded cheddar

Salt and pepper to taste (I used about 1-1/2 tsp freshly ground sea salt and about 3/4 tsp freshly ground black pepper)

  1.  In a blender combine cream cheese, 1 cup broccoli, heavy cream, and 1/2 C broth.  Blend until well combined and creamy.
  2. Loosely chop the remaining broccoli into bite-size pieces or smaller if you like.
  3. Combine remaining broth and broccoli with mix from the blender in a large sauce pan.
  4. Bring to a slow boil over medium heat so as to not scorch the cream, stirring constantly.
  5. When broccoli is heated through and tender but not soggy, stir in the shredded cheddar and mix until cheese is completely melted and combined.  Serve hot.

****Makes 4 servings when pairing it with something else (some suggestions below).  Otherwise, just the soup alone was about 3 servings.

While I chose not to make anything to go with it tonight, ham steak goes well with it with fresh dinner rolls (gluten-free for my household) or Schar gluten-free chibatta bread toasted in a toaster or pizza oven with butter and garlic salt……mmmm mmm delicious!!

 

Leave a Reply

